Desert Inspirations

A week or so ago I talked about my visit to the desert and how I was looking for inspiration.

As soon as I snapped the photo of the wall panel at the hotel, I knew exactly what I wanted to make.

Here, again, is the photo that inspired me:

And here is the card I made: (The photo is a little wonky, but you get the idea.)

Strong vase

I used my Cuttlebug embossing folder (branches) to dry emboss just the top half of the cream colored card stock. I then white embossed this Michael Strong stamp (cloissone pot) on tan card stock. (I love this stamp — you can cut it apart and use the pieces in various ways. So clever!)

I cut some strips of green scrap paper into slivers that I hope look like long leaves, glued them to the back of the pot and added the image to the card bottom. So simple!

One Response

  1. […] See how I hid the white scrappy part? To make this card I first ran my cardstock through my new Tim Holtz Texture Fades embossing folder (Sizzix.) I edged the striped paper with a black marker, then glued it to the card front, off-setting it to the left. I white embossed the Michael Strong pot on rust-colored paper (to match the rust-colored stripe) then cut the top part of the pot to make the little one. (I love the versatility of this pot, which I also used here) […]

Leave a Reply

