Quick Halloween Project with Duck Tape

In preparation for an upcoming craft project for Craftideas magazine, I’ve been playing with Duck brand Duck Tape®. Here’s a quick Halloween project using the tape and a recycled shipping box:

duck tape halloweed box 670 DSC_0653

I’ll just toss some candy in there and be ready for any trick-or-treaters! For this box, I simply took the roll and started wraping it around the box, cutting where I needed to using a non-stick scissor. I used three layers so I’d have enough to cover the raw edges at the top of the box.

I’ve been having a little too much fun re-purposing various boxes (boxes my husband keeps trying to throw out!)

Here’s another quick one that went from this….
jr mint box plain 610 DSC_0585

…to this:

jr mint box covered 610 DSC_0587

I love the way the box was cut — a perfect way to hold some cards:

jr mint box filled 610 DSC_0588

For that box, I used a sheet (instead of rolls). I set the box down on the paper-covered side of the sheet, then did a rough trace of the bottom and sides to get my cutting lines. I peeled off the lining and set the box bottom in the middle. Then I just folded up the sides, making slices where I needed to overlap or maneuver the tape. (I put the box on a large cutting mat and used a craft knife to slice. I didn’t worry about being neat or precise.)

These are so fast and easy, you’ll want to cover every blank surface!

Leave a Reply

