All the News Fit to Wear!

When my friend and former news reporter colleague had a birthday, she requested hand made gifts only. Brilliant! Right up my alley!

Since we are both writers, former reporters and newspaper junkies, this gift was easy:

kathy pin 559 DSC_0497

I used a Formica chip left over from a long-ago remodeling project and collaged pieces of newspaper. I gold embossed the edges and added some pretty yarns, bling and a pin back.

But I couldn’t stop there … I packaged it (and another bracelet) in this box:

kathy box 559 DSC_0502

After collaging the box, I sprayed on some gold Perfect Pearls for a little sheen. I added a flower topper made from … that’s right … newspaper, which I cut using a Tim Holtz flower die. So easy and effective!

Here’s a photo that shows the other piece, a bracelet. I used a wood bracelet blank and covered it with pretty paper and a few strategically placed gemstones:
kathy pin set 559 DSC_0500

Are you as addicted to Pinterest as I am? Come back Friday for a Fabulous Find … and a giveaway!

Leave a Reply

