Fabulous Finds Friday — Really Rosettes

It took me a while to get on the rosette bandwagon, but now that I am, I am crazy about them. Big ones, small ones, fancy ones, plain ones. Love me some rosettes!

I used to make them using my Stampin’ Up scoring board (a valuable tool and a Fabulous Find), which I thought was pretty easy. Well, it IS easy to use. But my wrists got tired after scoring too much.

Enter the rosette die from Tim Holtz/Sizzix . There are two versions of Tim’s rosette dies; I chose the one that made two smaller rosettes (perfect for the scale of cards I like to make.) The die not only cuts the shapes (and the round pieces to put on the top/bottom the rosettes) but also SCORES it! Ah, bliss! Take a look:

rosettes 459 strips DSC_0353

Well, I couldn’t just make rosettes all day, could I? Or could I …. hmmm…. It sure looks that way from this pic:
rosettes 459 group shot DSC_0354

Anyway, I finally decided to put them to use.
rosetted 459 green together DSC_0364

This double-sided cardstock from K and Company made it easy to create a simple birthday card. I cut some strips to make the rosettes, then used the rest to make the card front (I chose the plain side so the rosettes wouldn’t have to compete with the pattern.
I thought of adding a sentiment, but I thought the piece cut from the other side of the cardstock was enough. Is it?

Now, of course, I want the bigger rosette die, too!!!

Here’s a quick tip: Tim has a great rosette tutorial on his website. He also notes that if your rosettes tear at the score line, simply add a piece of tissue tape to the back for added strength. I did not have a problem with the rosettes tearing, so didn’t do that, but it’s good to know, eh?

Have a wonderful weekend!

One Response

  1. […] cardstock. After drying with my heat tool I began adding paper bits. I finished with a rosette (see this blog entry for more on rosettes!), a sentiment (Hero Arts) stamped on a die cut piece (Sizzix Framelets set) […]

Leave a Reply

