News You Can Use

Earlier this year I made two jewelry pieces to be donated to a journalism group for a fundraising event.

spj newsy jewelry 411 DSC_0318

I used newspaper stories and headlines to create the background on Formica chips, sealed with Mod Podge. When the Mod Podge was dry I used a VersaMark pen on the edges, then added gold embossing powder. And finally, some beads and gems.

Naturally, I needed something cool to hold them, so I fashioned these recycled gift boxes from a box that held soap:

spj newsy gift boxes 411 DSC_0316

Again, I covered the box with newspaper (hey, this was for a bunch of journalists!) and punched a hole in the sides for a ribbon. But the most fun was the flower, made with the Tim Holtz Tattered Flower die (Sizzix) and, you guess it, newspaper. I spritzed the flower with Ranger’s Perfect Pearls (I think gold and another color… I’m so bad at remembering.)

Here’s a close-up of the flower:

spj newsy flower detail 411 DSC_0319

Thanks for swingin’ by!

Leave a Reply

