Texture-ific Day Two

I have only began to scratch the surface of texture!

Today is all about my experimentation with letterpress. Letterpress is so old-school, so rich, so yummy! Unlike heat embossing, which gives a raised surface, letterpress “de-bosses” or presses INTO the paper. The best papers for letterpress are those that are a bit thicker. The letterpressed image should not show through to the other side.

In a July 6 posting (here), I introduced the new Fiskars Fuse, a letterpress machine that die cuts at the same time it presses. (here are the tags I posted:)

(Yes, I reversed the process for the blue tag — I ran the tag through so that the design was pushed UP, then I sanded the raised area to give more definition. This won’t work with EVERY letterpress plate, but will with some.)

So then I had to play with the Epic Letterpress by Lifestyle Crafts. Again, such a beautiful outcome. Check it out:

Is that fabulous or what? So lush! Although special, thicker letterpress ink is suggested, I just used some pigment inks because I wanted the colors.

Here’s another:

And a round tag, die cut on the Epic:

Am I done? No way! Stay tuned for more texture fun.

Thanks for stopping by.

2 Responses

  1. These are gorgeous! And the last one has a Delft-like feel!

Leave a Reply

