Fabulous Fun Friday — Operation Write Home

Have I got a fun blog post today! (Prize alert! Scroll down!)

Many of you know about Operation Write Home, an organization that collects cards to send to troops so THEY can write to family and friends back home. I love this group. Contributing is a great way to do something good, be creative and stamp, stamp, stamp.

This month the incentive to make cards is even greater because …. wait for it … We R Memory Keepers™ is trying to collect 50,000 cards to contribute. And there are prizes.

The deadline to submit cards for the contest is midnight, Tuesday, July 24, 2012. 

Did I mention prizes? There are chances to win goodies each week on WRMK’s Facebook page. At the end of the contest, WRMK staff will pick the top 50 cards to be voted on by the company’s Facebook fans.

The top 25 cards will receive a Power Punch
Top 10 cards will receive a Lucky 8 Punch
Top 5 cards will receive a Love 2 Craft collection
The top card receives up to $1,000 in WRMK product (prize value for top card will depend on the number of cards collected)

For more submission guidelines and more info, visit their website: http://www.weronthenet.com/Operation_Write_Home

Do visit the Operation Write Home™ site (www.operationwritehome.org) to see the card making guidelines — there are some restrictions on what you can send.

So… who wants to play? To get you started, We Are Memory Keepers is giving away a “Stack Pack” to one of my blog readers. Leave a comment by the end of Father’s Day (appropriate, yes? It’s June 17, midnight). Tell me why making cards for others is a great idea!

Look at this fun prize: (Think how many cool cards you can make from this stack!)

I’m going to make some cards soon, and I’ll be sharing.

Thanks for stopping by … and happy card making!

8 Responses

  1. Love making cards for others. My daughters get annoyed if I buy them a card instead of making one.

    • That’s adorable, Chris! I’m so glad they appreciate you!!! It’s so great to send hand made cards to those who really appreciate the effort!

  2. For a chance at a Lucky 8 punch, I don’t even need the extra incentive of a good cause. Bring on the paper!

    • Grin. The Lucky 8 punch is pretty cool, so don’t forget to send your cards to We R Memory Keepers for a chance at that. I’ve been busy, too!

  3. what a super giveaway! i think we are getting so electronic, that if we don’t make beautiful cards we will lose “real mail” altogether!
    Linda B.

    • There’s something so specisl about getting an actual card or letter in the mail! Especially if it’s sent using a pretty postage stamp! Some of my friends send me e-cards for my birthday… but I really like getting a card in the mail!

  4. My mom is the recipient of many of my cards as she is 87 and has never joined the tech world. She still believes a handwritten note is the best so I try to keep her supplied. She loves to get a batch of my cards to send to people who do kind things for her or my dad, 87 and 92 years old.

    • Lucky mom! And lucky you to have parents around … especially since they enjoy your cards! She must be so proud to show off your cards!

Leave a Reply

