More Mixed Media

As you see from my last post, I’ve been having fun experimenting (okay, playing!) with mixed media coloring agents, including inks and crayons. (For more info on mixed media, see my Basics & Beyond column in the December 2011 issue of Crafts ‘n things magazine.)

Here are more projects:

Aren’t these colors yummy? (Well, maybe they don’t look as bright and glistening in the photo as they do in real life … you’ll have to trust me, they are yummy!) The background was made using Faber-Castell’s Gelatos — creamy crayon-like pigment sticks.

I scribbled the sticks across watercolor paper, smeared them with a paper towel, then spritzed them with water for even more blend. When the background was dry I stamped and embossed the house stamp (Hero Arts), trimmed, mounted, etc. (Because the watercolor paper is heavily textured, I didn’t get the greatest image.)

Gelatos come in metallics, too. You can see my earlier blog posts about Gelatos here and here. (You’ll also find the genesis of this card!)

The next card uses Donna Salazar’s Mix’d Media Inx, which I talked about in the previous post.

I wanted to show another way to use them. In the above card I inked up Hero Arts’ Wildflower Garden (CG170) and stamped on watercolor paper. (Again, that bumpy texture! I will try it again on a smooth stock.)

The edges and the sentiment (Hero Arts Anytime Messages CL129) were inked with Stephanie Barnard Dye Inks from Clearsnap.

Thanks for spending this time with me!

Leave a Reply

