Mixed Media Mash-Up

Mixed media art — ah, the name conjurs up some complicated art process. But if you’ve ever layered paper on a card, used several types of ink, or varied your cardmaking techniques, you’ve created mixed media art. See? Wasn’t that easy?

I did a little mixed media exploring for an article in the December issue of Crafts ‘n things magazine (the one that is on the newstands now.) I thought I’d share some projects that did not make it into the magazine.

First are my experiments using Mix’d Media Inx, a new pigment ink from designer Donna Salazar and Clearsnap. The ink is thick and creamy and comes in a round, stackable container that is somewhat flexible.

The ink stays wet a long time, making it easy to emboss. I played a bit, mixing it up with dye inks and clear embossing powder:

On the one above, I stamped the vine pattern first, using the fast-drying dye ink, then stamped the flowers using the Mix’d Media Inx. (All stamps: Hero Arts.) I embossed with clear powder. Note how the dye ink shows through. It’s okay, but it wasn’t quite the look I wanted, so I also tried embossing the flowers first, then stamping with the dye ink.

Here are some cards made with the finished pieces:

The above uses that piece that was stamped with the vine and dye ink first, then the Inx, and embossed with clear powder. (Spellbinders die; Technique Tuesday sentiment; Martha Stewart ribbon). I also rubbed a bit of the Inx on the die cut to give it more definition.

This one was stamped and embossed first, then the dye ink vines were added. (Yes, some the dye did smear when I rubbed it off the embossed parts! Lesson learned … let the dye ink dry first!)

(Spellbinders Nestabilities die; Martha Stewart edge punch; Inkadinkado sentiment)

Same process, but I let the ink dry longer, then rubbed it off the embossed flowers.

(Spellbinders Nestabilities die; Hero Arts sentiment.)

I’ll have more in another post! Thanks for coming by.

Leave a Reply

