Fabulous Finds Friday — Gelatos

Yum! Gelato! But these Gelatos have no calories. These Gelatos are creamy acid-free pigment sticks from Faber-Castell.

(see them here: http://www.designmemorycraft.com/)

I’ve been having fun playing just a bit:

Here I’ve spread the yellow and orange set on slightly glossy cardstock on the left and a textured watercolor paper on the right. I misted lightly with water, then spread the creamy color using a paper towel.

And stamped this image (Crafty Individuals/Magenta) using black dye ink on the textured piece:

Here is another version with more pinks. The image (Hero Arts) was stamped with black pigment ink and embossed with clear powder:

The Gelatos were spread on the cardstocks, misted lightly with water, then spread using a paper towel. (Again, the texture of the watercolor paper gave me a less-than-perfect impression.)

In this next photo, I used the same process, but on smoother cardstock. When the Gelatos had dried (I zapped them with my heat tool), I sprayed with Ranger’s Perfect Pearls Mist, then stamped and black embossed the tree (Prickley Pear):

See the little glimmer?

I tried the friendship image again on the metallic blue colors. The smoother cardstock gave me a better impression.

And here are the metallic gold and silver:

 

On both of these samples I first rubbed Gelatos on my smooth cardstock, then smeared with a paper towel. I did not use water on these. The silver one was stamped using ColorBox black pigment ink then the whole thing was sprinkled with clear embossing powder. On the gold, I stamped using Ancient Page and just heated with my heat tool to set the ink.

Now… what to do with them? Come back next week and see what I’ve done!

7 Responses

  1. […] come in metallics, too. You can see my earlier blog posts about Gelatos here and here. (You’ll also find the genesis of this […]

  2. […] among other bits and pieces was this cool background piece made by rubbing Gelatos (see this post and this post for more info on Gelatos) on water color paper. The big fish is from Rubber Stamp […]

  3. […] more Gelatos information and inspiration, check out my previous posts here and […]

  4. It looks like a lovely medium, but watching the video on one of the websites, it doesn’t look like they’d last very long? What do you think?

  5. Oh actually, I meant would they get used up very quickly, is that what you thought I meant? Sorry!

Leave a Reply

