Vintage Cards from Crafts ‘n things

Happy Friday!

Time to catch up on some card making. In this post  I mentioned the article I wrote for the October issue of Crafts ‘n things (on the newstands now!)

Three of my cards were featured and a few people asked me about the stamps or techniques I used for these cards. So, with permission from my editor, here is the 411:

“Road Trip”

Doesn’t this image remind you of road trips with the family? (“Mom, he’s touching me….” “I’m thirsty…” “Do I have to turn this car around?”) All images are from Artistic Outpost. The focal image (the car) was stamped first, then masked. Then the map was stamped in brown Distress ink. The edge of the card was distressed, inked, then slipped into photo corners.

“Old Friends”

The background image for “Friends” is from Alpha Stamps, the “sisters” image is from The Stampsmith, the fun film strip felt is from Creative Imaginations, the saying from Hero Arts, and the buttons are just random. The plain and scalloped circles are cut using Spellbinders Nestabilities.

“Bathing Beauty”

I’ve had this bathing beauty (A Tin Can Mail stamp from Inkadinkado) in my collection for ages — love her, but hardly ever use her. Until now! This was such a fun card to put together. She was stamped first on white scrap stock then cut out and painted using watercolor pencils. The “sand” is a piece of textured card stock from Core’dinations. Don’t you just love the darker “core” color peeking through? The paper was lightly sanded to bring out even more texture. The blue sky is also from Core’dinations, run through a Cuttlebug embossing folder (on my good ol’ Sizzix Big Kick) and sanded to bring out the other shade. The ribbon is from Maya Road. Yum.

And while the gal was hangin’ at the beach, I made another card. So here’s a bonus card that did not appear in the magazine:

“Blue Beauty”

The flower background (dotted with Perfect Pearls)  is from Hero Arts, the damask image (stamped in white on blue) is from Judikins and the ribbony thing is from Making Memories.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

